Colin Stüssi still top

Colin Stüssi still top

5 juli 2024 –

Colin Stüssi still top – 14th place on the third Tour of Austria UCI 2.1 stage in St. Johann Alpendorf

From Schladming to St. Johann Alpendorf over 153 kilometers and almost 2800 vertical meters. These are the ingredients of the third stage of the Tour of Austria. After the start up to Ramsau, the home of Moran Vermeulen, there were fireworks from the pros. Right in the middle of it all was Team Vorarlberg, driven by their teammate’s fan club.

Material problems only cost a few seconds in the overall standings
As a result, seven top riders broke away, who were caught again in the exciting finale. Team UAE Emirates did everything in its power to take the stage win. Diego Ulissi (ITA) completed this in the demanding uphill sprint. He won ahead of Magnus Sheffield (GBR / INEOS Grenadiers). Ulissi also takes the red jersey of the overall leader.

Colin Stüssi is delivered perfectly by Jannis Peter and crosses the finish line in 14th place, eleven seconds behind. This performance should be rated all the higher, as he had to struggle with material problems throughout the final. So all eyes will be on him tomorrow. Jannis Peter finishes 28th today and the World Tour teams didn’t miss a beat today either. Nevertheless, Team Vorarlberg can be happy with how the tour has gone so far.

Grossglockner stage will decide the winner of the Tour!
From St. Johann Alpendorf over the Grossglockner up to the mountaineering village of Kals in East Tyrol. This mammoth task awaits the pros tomorrow. 151 kilometers and 3660 vertical meters – a real royal stage. And the Glockner King will also be honored. GO, GO, boys!


Info Tour of Austria  

Stages 73rd Tour of Austria:
02.07. Prologue St. Pölten (3 km)
03.07.    Bad Tatzmannsdorf – Bad Tatzmannsdorf (177,9 km)
04.07.    Maria Taferl – Steyr (184,5 Km)
05.07.    Schladming – St. Johann / Alpendorf (153,1 Km)
06.07.    St. Johann / Alpendorf – Kals (151,7 Km)
07.07.    Kufstein – Kühtai (143,8 Km)

Line-up Team Vorarlberg: Moran Vermeulen, Dominik Amann, Colin Stüssi, Jannis Peter, Lukas Meiler, Alexander Konychev, Lukas Rüegg;

Presseservice Team Vorarlberg

(Copyright Photos Team Vorarlberg @Source)